Skip to content

Ode To The Craigslist Missed Connection Section

August 31, 2011


A few days ago, I discovered one of the greatest time-killers that the internet has ever invented; the Craigslist Missed Connection section. Located in the “Personals” category of Craigslist, this section is where people go to try to find people that they met (or just saw), but don’t have any contact information for. I suppose that there are some cases in which ernest people use this service, but I can’t help but feel that most posts are pretty tongue in cheek. Here are a few choice headlines from the Salt Lake City Craigslist, all posted within the last day or two:

  • “You Walked Me To The Financial Aid Office”
  • “Cute Mom At Costco 300 W”
  • “Cute Bank Teller”
  • “At The Butcher Shop”

The funniest thing about the Missed Connection section is that it is at the same time pathetic yet hopeful, creepy yet idealistic. Here’s a sample of a pretty typical post:

  • “I see you cruising around the U of U area quite often in your velocity red RX8. I don’t think you have ever noticed me, but I certainly notice you! Pure beauty. By the way, I drive a silver RX8. If you read this and then notice a silver RX on the road, honk and if you hear a honk back you’ll know it’s me.”

The reason that I love reading some of these posts is because of the story each one tells; I can’t help but try to picture each scenario in my mind. I also have got to wonder, do any of these people actually ever find those that they are looking for? I’d like to think so, but who knows.

If any of you have ever had any luck with the Missed Connection section, or if you’ve come across a particularly interesting or funny post, let us know in the comments!

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

