Skip to content

Phineas and Ferb = Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

February 9, 2011

For the last several months, I have been a gung-ho fan of the Disney Channel cartoon Phineas and Ferb. Before you pass judgement, please realize that it is not typical for me to love any show on Disney Channel, let alone a random cartoon. The first time I saw it, I initially responded with “What is this lame show?” But then I watched it, and now I am hooked. After analyzing why it is that this show appeals to me so greatly, I came to a realization; it’s essentially like a cartoon version of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, one of my favorite movies of all time. Though the similarities are many, this article will highlight some of the most significant.

The Attitude of the Main Characters

First and foremost, the character of Ferris Bueller is very similar to the character of Phineas. Both are brimming with optimism and confidence, and both are emphatic about making the most of a single day and accomplishing as much as possible. Both are care-free and fun-loving, as well as years ahead of their peers.

The Sisters

In Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Ferris’ sister Jeanie (Jennifer Grey, who ironically voices several small roles for Phineas and Ferb) is obsessed with getting Ferris in trouble for ditching school. She is so preoccupied with this endeavor, that at one point she is arrested; she literally cannot enjoy anything about her own life because she is so caught up with what her brother can get away with. Enter Phineas and Ferb‘s Candace. Candace is the older sister of Phineas and Ferb, and seems to spending every waking second attempting to “bust” her brothers for something or another. She is so involved with this obsession, that she cannot enjoy her own life (including her boyfriend Jeremy) until her siblings are busted.

Spontaneous Musical Numbers

The parade scene in which Ferris sings “Danke Schoen” and “Twist and Shout” is one of the most memorable moments of the movie; but boy is it random. Most every episode of Phineas and Ferb contains a similarly random musical number of some sort, often times accompanied by over-the-top dance routines similar to the parade scene.

Comedic Relief

Ed Rooney is the bumbling assistant principle in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and his role is primarily that of comedic relief. Phineas and Ferb‘s Dr. Doofenshmirtz plays an identical role. Both characters are used to maintain the comedic consistency when breaking away from the main characters, and both are hilariously funny as their respective “plans” are continually foiled.

The Endings

Though the ending of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off may be dramatic, I don’t think anyone watching the film for the first time actually worries that Ferris might get caught. He survives many close calls throughout the day, and it’s a blast to watch him do so. Phineas and Ferb often experience similar “close calls” throughout an episode, close calls which culminate in some sort of climatic narrow escape similar to Ferris’.

When it all comes down to it, Phineas and Ferb is a spectacular television program. It truly is like a Ferris Bueller’s Day Off cartoon, and I say that as a die-hard Ferris fan. If you haven’t given it a chance, then do so a.s.a.p.! You can check out a few episodes for free on DisneyChannel.com, or buy them on iTunes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. MaKenna Hope permalink
    February 9, 2011 1:42 pm

    This is genius! I have never made that connection, but it definitely rings true.

    • February 9, 2011 1:58 pm

      Thanks! Once you start connecting the dots, both shows really are so similar!

  2. Miriam permalink
    February 9, 2011 3:05 pm

    I never thought of this before, but it’s so true! They are identical. However, I think you mean Ferris i like Phinneas, not Ferb.

    • February 9, 2011 10:14 pm

      Nice catch, I can’t believe I switched the two names. Actually yes I can believe it, it gets confusing when you say both of their names so many times in a single article.

  3. Tyler Cauvel permalink
    February 9, 2011 3:51 pm

    Nice connections! I’m a fan of both. Bravo sir!

  4. Erin permalink
    July 8, 2011 8:39 pm

    Glad I am not the ony one who thought so! I was babysitting and watching this and thought of how remarkably similair the two are. I got home and googled it to see if it was meant to be that way. I’m glad I found this site.

    • daniel permalink
      July 11, 2011 8:35 am

      We’re glad you found this site as well! Thanks for visiting and come back soon!

  5. marie permalink
    September 25, 2011 9:03 pm

    I thought the same thing, starting with their attitudes, and googled to see if anyone else had thought the same thing :-)

    • daniel permalink
      September 27, 2011 7:39 am

      Well I’m glad you did! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. tim permalink
    February 14, 2012 8:43 am

    I’ve seen Ferris Bueller’s Day Off hundreds of times, & love it. I went years not watching Phineas & Ferb simply because I thought the name was so lame. My kids started watching it recently on Netflix. I gave it a shot, & fell in love. I never made the connection with Ferris Bueller until my wife just blurted it out this morning. Immediately, what my subconscious apparently always knew, came bursting into my consciousness! I googled the similarity, & found your article. Awesome! (Mostly because now I know I’m not crazy:-). Have you also noticed that Ferb is Cameron? Both are taller, long-necked, quiet, and shockingly introspective. I know I might be spending way too much time and energy on this, but one might also connect Perry to the Ferrari. The episodic sub-plot & story of Perry’s adventures are radically similar to the Ferrari’s joy ride (also, neither speak – except for their trademark “engine purring”). There’s probably more, but I don’t have a day off, & I’m sure I know what I’m going to do today:-).

Leave a Reply

