Skip to content

Deep Thoughts on New Year’s Eve

December 31, 2010

vintage_new_years_eve_ball_drop.jpg

In just a few short hours, 2010 will exist only as a memory. I am not too sure if most people become extremely introspective on New Year’s Eve, but I certainly do. I think of the things which I have accomplished (or not accomplished) over the past year, but most importantly I reflect on the memories I have made. A lot of folks make a New Year’s resolution, but I usually don’t. Sure, I have a goal or two in mind, but I never write them down tell others when they ask. I am not sure why my attitude toward New Year’s resolutions is so cynical, though probably it’s partially because of the low number of people that adhere to their diet or stop-smoking program.

No matter what sort of year I have had, New Year’s Eve is always somewhat sad for me. I really love Christmas, and seeing as New Year’s Eve is only a week after, I’m usually still disappointed that Christmas has already come and gone. Perhaps more of a reason that New Year’s tends to be sad is due to the fact that, no matter what unpleasantries have occurred over the past year, life overall is quite splendid. It is bitter-sweet to realize that the past year, full of so much fun and excitement, is coming to a close. But it is this yearly realization, however, that seems to turn New Year’s Eve into sort of a “Thanksgiving round II” for me. How often in our lives are we so caught up in what is to come that we forgot the marvelous events that have already came to pass?

Now for a tip. Make a New Year’s resolution, sure, you are probably more dedicated to self-improvement than I am. But in addition to a resolution, be sure to take some time to reflect on the reasons that 2010 was such a great year. Most of us, despite any challenges, could probably spend hours identifying why this past year was awesome, and the outcome of such an exercise is quite interesting. Taking part in the this exercise in gratitude, most people gain an increased awareness that the upcoming year will likely be just as great as the year past. Seeing as we are human, however, “just as great” usually doesn’t satisfy; we want it to be better. And so we are left with the motivation and drive to make sure that 2011 is better than 2010, which eventually leads to the realization that it is only through our individual actions that this goal can be accomplished. It is within this train of thought that lasting New Year’s resolutions can be made; a train of thought centered on thanksgiving and gratitude.

Happy New Year’s Eve from your friends at TextbookStop.com. Have a fantastic 2011.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

